A Good Long Weekend

I must say that I haven’t had nice four day long weekend like this in a while.  Friday I played a fun eighteen holes of golf and for the first nine, I was doing better than ever.  Sadly I couldn’t keep it up, but still, this season has seen a distinct improvement in my skills.  Yesterday, Mrs Thomson and I went for a nice hike in the woods, far from the noise and stress of city living.  After that little trek, we stopped at a favourite gourmet store that had gone bankrupt last year but had since reopened under new management, a fact I discovered only last Thursday.  Understandably we went a bit nuts in piling on the smoked fish, jerked fish, smoked nuts (yes….) and other exquisitely tasty stuff.  Supper last night was a true delight.

As I mentioned in the previous post, inspiration for Dunmoore Book 3 struck, possibly in part because the newly published second volume is doing so well, as is the first volume, which seems to have attracted new readers.  I’m now just under 10,000 words into the first draft, almost 10%, which is good work for a summer’s weekend.  I’ll make no promises as to the publication date, but I’ve tentatively settled on a title (which may still change):  Like Stars in Heaven (Siobhan Dunmoore Book 3).

Readers may have noticed that I explored different themes in books 1 and 2, and I’ll be exploring further themes in book 3.  The Shrehari will be back as well – ornery, expansionistic and as strangely honourable as ever.

Leave a comment

Filed under Siobhan Dunmoore Naval Science Fiction Series

Leave a Reply

